Investor Relations


Chairman of the Board
Elected to the board September 11, 1974. Donald E. Graham became chairman of the board in September 1993. He was chief executive officer of Graham Holdings Company (previously The Washington Post Company) from May 1991 until November 2015. He was publisher of The Washington Post newspaper from January 1979 until September 2000. Graham was born on April 22, 1945, in Baltimore, Maryland, a son of Philip L. and Katharine Meyer Graham. His father was publisher of The Washington Post from 1946 until
President and Chief Executive Officer
Elected to the board November 12, 2014 Timothy O’Shaughnessy became president and chief executive officer of Graham Holdings, effective November 2015. O'Shaughnessy joined the Company as president in 2014 to oversee investments and acquisitions, and to help set a new direction following the sale of The Washington Post. Previously, he served as chief executive officer of LivingSocial, which he co-founded in 2007. During his tenure, the e-commerce and marketing company grew sales to nearly $2
President, Columbia University
Elected to the board May 10, 2007 Lee C. Bollinger became the nineteenth President of Columbia University on June 1, 2002. A prominent advocate of affirmative action, he played a leading role in the twin Supreme Court cases—Grutter v Bollinger and Gratz v Bollinger—that upheld and clarified the importance of diversity as a compelling justification for affirmative action in higher education. A leading First Amendment scholar, he is widely published on freedom of speech and press, and currently
Chairman, Davis Selected Advisers, LP
Elected to the board January 20, 2006 Christopher C. Davis serves as chairman of Davis Selected Advisers, LP, an investment counseling firm that oversees approximately $70 billion of client assets, including mutual funds and institutional separate accounts. The firm employs a research-driven, long-term approach to investing. He joined Davis Selected Advisers in 1989 as a financial analyst and became a portfolio manager of the firm’s flagship funds, Davis New York Venture Fund and Selected
Co-Chief Executive Officer, Markel Corporation
Elected to the board January 18, 2007 Thomas “Tom” Gayner is Co-Chief Executive Officer of Markel Corporation. He oversees the investing activities for the company, as well as the Markel Ventures diverse industrial and service businesses. Mr. Gayner joined Markel in 1990 to form Markel Gayner Asset Management which provided equity investment counsel for Markel Corporation as well as outside clients. Prior to joining Markel, Mr. Gayner served as vice president of Davenport & Co of Virginia and
Former Governor of Delaware
Elected to the board May 4, 2017 Jack A. Markell served from 2009-2017 as the Governor of Delaware, leading a $4 billion enterprise with 30,000 employees. During his tenure, Delaware emerged from the great recession with the strongest job growth in the region and among the best private sector wage growth in the country.  Mr. Markell was particularly focused on improving Delaware's schools and positioning its citizens for future prosperity by launching and scaling important workforce development
Retired Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Xerox Corporation
Elected to the board January 17, 2008 Anne M. Mulcahy was most recently chairman of Xerox Corporation. She stepped down from this role and from the Xerox Board, effective May 20, 2010. From August 2001 through June 2009, she was also chief executive officer of Xerox. Mulcahy retired from the CEO post effective July 1, 2009, and retained the position of chairman. Prior to serving as CEO, Mulcahy was president and chief operating officer of Xerox from May 2000 through July 2001.
Retired Executive Vice President–Government Affairs, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, PepsiCo
Larry D. Thompson retired from PepsiCo in December 2014 as Executive Vice President-Government Affairs, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary. His responsibilities included leading PepsiCo's worldwide legal function, as well as its global government affairs and public policy group and its global citizenship and sustainability team. Mr. Thompson has extensive leadership experience in both the public and private sectors. In 2001, Mr. Thompson was confirmed by the United States Senate as Deputy
Retired Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, General Motors Corporation
Elected to the board June 10, 2010 G. Richard (“Rick”) Wagoner retired from General Motors Corporation in August 2009 after a 32-year career. He served as GM chairman and chief executive officer from May 2003 through March 2009 and had been president and chief executive officer since June 2000. Other positions he held at GM include: president and chief operating office; executive vice president of GM and president of North American Operations; executive vice president, chief financial officer
Former Chief Executive Officer and Publisher The Washington Post
Elected to the board September 23, 2010   Katharine Weymouth is former chief executive officer of The Washington Post and its affiliated publishing businesses, a position she held from 2008 until 2014. Weymouth joined the newspaper in 1996 as assistant counsel. After two years, she moved to Washingtonpost.Newsweek Interactive (WPNI), then the online publishing subsidiary of the Company, as associate counsel. In 2000, Weymouth returned to the Post, where she served as the advertising